Looking For Alaska

Image

Looking For Alaska (audiobook)

John Green

AR Level 5.8, 11 points (though definitely not recommended for younger students)

I am seriously slacking.  It’s been 8 days since my last finished book.  I ought to be much further along, but it is May, the last month of school, and I am just Crazy Busy.

Looking For Alaska is not a book for children.  A junior nicknamed Pudge goes away to a boarding school and for the first time, has friends.  Alaska Young is a beautiful, intriguing, but disturbed young woman with a wild streak.  Pudge and his friends pull pranks, experience normal *ahem* high school boy things (and some girl things), and deal with the peer pressure of drinking and smoking.  Alaska makes a decision that changes the life of Pudge and his friends forever, and they have to learn to deal with her consequences.

What I liked about this book was of course, John Green’s writing.  It’s almost like he writes in prose instead of paragraphs.  He creates and develops interesting characters.  This novel was a bit of a mystery, because the chapters are a count down, and you had to figure out what he was counting down to.  Honestly, that’s about it.

What I didn’t like about this book was the gratuitous drinking, smoking, and sexual references.  I am way too old to think like a high schooler.  I never drank or smoke or experienced sexual peer pressure when I was in high school, so I can’t relate to that.  Some of it brought humor to the story.  Plus, there was the suicide references.  And at one point, I walked downstairs, jaw hanging open, angry at John Green for what he did to a character.  Honestly, it was just kind of a dark story.

Book 8 of 52

 

On a side note, I got my Scholastic Book Order in, and of course, I bought a bunch of books for myself with my points.  I ended up buying Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher and Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell.  Both are NY Times Bestsellers.  I’m converted.  But first, I have to finish Hollow City and the next Lemony Snicket.  I’ve also had The Book Thief sitting on my counter for awhile now.

Leave a Reply

