If I Stay

If-I-Stay-book

If I Stay (audiobook)

by Gayle Forman

AR Level 5.3, 8 points

 

I downloaded If I Stay as an audiobook last Monday, because I had a long car ride (well, not a long distance, but a lot of traffic) and I get antsy when it’s just the radio.  A few times, I ended up sitting at my destination, but I couldn’t get out of the car until we came to a good pause in the story.  I cut all of my lamination and worked in my classroom while listening, because I had to know if she decided to stay or die.

No, it’s not another suicide book.  This is the story of Mia, a talented cellist with an eccentric but loving family, and a punker boyfriend.  One morning, she and her family get into a horrific car accident, and she’s put into a medically induced coma due to her extreme injuries.  She discovers she is able to leave her body and follow people around the hospital while they mourn for her family and suffer with not knowing what will become of her.  Memories of her childhood, family, and past experiences flood her and help her make the decision if she should stay and experience all of those things she’s meant to experience, or die and be with her family.  Of course, she is visited by several family members, her best friend, and her boyfriend, all of whom want her to stay, of course.  It is only Gramps who gives her permission to go.  I won’t spoil the ending for you as long as you don’t google the book.  If you do, you’ll immediately see her choice!

I’m putting If I Stay in the same category as The Fault In Our Stars, because there are so many similarities.  Two teenagers who have a relationship beyond their years.  Parents approve.  People die.  Some parts make you want to cry.  You think about what would happen if someone you loved more than anything in the world died- would you be able to go on?  So it’s like The Fault In Our Stars, just not as good.  But I won’t hold that against Gayle Forman.

What I liked about this book was that it was entertaining.  Sad, yes.  Sometimes funny.  But it was really easy to get lost in, and you were always contemplating what you would do in that same situation.  Which brings me to…

What I didn’t like about this book:  I contemplated what I would do in that same situation.  That made me think of what I would do if I lost my husband and children.  Would I go on?  I don’t even want to go there, because my answer will spin me into a sobbing mess.  So I won’t think about it, and you shouldn’t either, because it’s just a book.  Seriously.  I’m going to read something light-hearted and funny next, I think.

Book 20 of 52

Leave a Reply

