Why We Broke Up

image

Why We Broke Up (Kindle)

by Daniel Handler

AR Level 5.0, 8 points

This is the story of Min’s breakup. She writes a letter to Ed Slatterton, the popular co captain of their high school basketball team, and in the letter, the story of their relationship is told, from beginning to end. Min is a “different” (but not really) teenager who hangs with the arty crowd, but isn’t particularly arty herself, aside from her obsession with old movies and all things vintage.  Ed is the stereotypical jock who parties on the weekends with fellow jocks and has a long list of beautiful ex girlfriends.  Ed and Min are so different, it shocks their friends when they end up together. However, we know their affair does not last, thus the premise and title of the novel.

What I liked about this book was the voice and wit of my favorite author. If you’ve read this blog (or know me), you’ll know that Lemony Snicket is my very favorite author of children’s books. Daniel Handler is his name when writing adult or young adult novels.  I have to admit that I enjoy his children’s literature more, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy this one.  I feel like he carefully chooses each word and finds a way to make you smirk even in a tragic novel.

What I didn’t like about this book was that I couldn’t relate to Min. Maybe I am too old, or too far removed from break ups where you feel like your life is over, you’ll never be happy again, and you must keep every memento. I personally wanted to smack Min a few times. In the end, I did feel sorry for her, but I set this book down about two years ago, because I just couldn’t connect. While I love love love this author, this was not one of my favorites.

Book 34 of 52

Leave a Reply

