Fifty Shades Darker and Fifty Shades Freed

tumblr_m8n1k6zw1G1rn4bkh

Fifty Shades Darker and Fifty Shades Freed

by E.L. James

AR Level???

Let’s be honest…  The books aren’t great.  They aren’t intellectually stimulating.  They didn’t get me hot and bothered.  But if you know me, you know that once I start, I have to see it through.  I hate stopping books once I’ve started, and the same goes for a series.  I enjoyed Twilight, and these are basically the same idea, but with lots and lots and lots of dirty, raunchy sex (which honestly, I could have done without, but I realize that is the basis of their appeal for 99% of their readers!).  It is predictable.  It is terrible writing (someone buy this woman a thesaurus).  It is a British author trying to be an American (someone please tell her we don’t watch a baseball “match”).  I think that reading these books actually made me dumber.

So while there is very little “take away” from this series, I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t entertaining!  I admit I skimmed the dirty parts, because that isn’t my thing, but I did enjoy seeing Christian change, and find out what made him the way that he was.  I also enjoyed that I could read it with low expectations, for entertainment value only.  Would I read it again?  Not a chance.  But I will see the movie and complain about all of the changes they made!

Books 38 and 39 of 52

Leave a Reply

