The Strange Case of Origami Yoda

oycover180px

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (hardcover)

by Tom Angleberger

AR Level 4.7, 3 points

Let me start off by saying I don’t know Star Wars very well at all.  I’ve seen the movies, I can name a lot of characters (but I can’t tell you who they are or point them out), and I know that I’m missing out on a lot of really good jokes and innuendos.  My college boyfriend forced me to sit down and watch all 3 of them, and I saw episode 1 on opening night in college.  I know that makes people upset… “How can you not like Star Wars?!”  I just don’t.  But I’m very glad you do.

I was reluctant to read The Strange Case of Origami Yoda.  You know what made me want to read it?  I have (had) the whole series in my classroom library, and someone stole book 1.  Nothing makes me want to do something more than telling me I can’t do it.  So for a week, I ranted and whined about how I provide all of these books by buying them myself, and all I ask is that you return them, or it’s called stealing.  Guess what- it didn’t get returned.  I had to borrow book 1 from a kind and generous student (thanks, Gavin).

As it turns out, you don’t really have to know much about Star Wars to understand this book, and I just asked my husband to confirm what I was pretty sure I already knew.  This story is a case file of first-hand accounts about Dwight’s intuitive, wise, origami Yoda finger puppet, compiled mainly by Tommy.  Students mocked Dwight for wearing the puppet on his finger (and for being a weirdo), but they would come to him (Yoda) for advice, too, especially when it came to boy and girl relationships.  They would ask Yoda a question, and Dwight would give them hints in his Yoda voice.  This advice was from Yoda, though, not Dwight.  Dwight is just the vessel.  😉  It is a compelling case for these sixth graders (is Origami Yoda real or just a finger puppet?), and I think the ending results can be debatable.

What I liked about this book was that it was a cute story.  I can definitely see why my boys got so into it.  Please don’t tell them I called it cute, because then they’ll never read it.  There was one chapter with a question and answer format that I would say was my very favorite part.  I was giggling in bed, and my husband just rolled his eyes at me (like he usually does when I giggle at books- he’s a brilliant man, but not an avid reader).

What I didn’t like about this book was how mean the other boys were to Dwight.  Again, that is with my adult perspective.  I doubt most of my students even realized it.  I thought they were bullies at times and friends when they wanted something.  I was happy that Dwight called them out on it, but I’m not sure they got what they deserved.

Will I read the rest of the series?  Someone make me an Origami Yoda so I can ask if I should.

Book 45 of 52

Leave a Reply

