Liar, Liar

0385740018.01.LZZZZZZZ

Liar, Liar (paperback)

by Gary Paulsen

AR Level 5.8, 3 points

To meet my goal of 52 books in 52 weeks, I basically have to read 5 books this weekend.  Kind of defeats the purpose of a book a week, but you know, life came up, and it’s been a hectic year.  I picked Liar, Liar up, because originally, I thought they looked interesting.  I know Gary Paulsen is a well-known author (Hatchet).  This is the first in a series of of books about Brian, and i also plan to read Crush this weekend.  If you have read my reading list from the past year, you know I get obsessive about series and authors and I have to read everything they’ve written.  I am not feeling that way with all of Gary Paulsen’s books since they don’t all look like my taste (thought I’ve been proven wrong, there), but I will read the short books about Kevin, because they’re funny and well-written.

Kevin is an eighth grade boy who has a different philosophy about being honest.  He believes that lies are just telling people what they want to hear, and that lies aren’t all that bad.  He sees his ability to lie as a talent, and he does appear to be pretty good at it.  He doesn’t lie about dumb things.  He basically makes people happy by shielding them from the truth, although some of his lies are for his own benefit.  At the beginning, Kevin falls in love with a girl, and he tells a series of lies to get to get to know her better.  In the end, he realizes the severity and damage of his lies, and he has to make amends.

What I liked about this book was that it was a quick, entertaining read.  It is only 120 pages, and I basically read it in 2 sittings (I’m terrible about starting book in bed when I’m exhausted, so I read half before bed and half during my kids’ nap time today).  Normal people could probably read the whole thing in just over an hour.  I also liked that it has an important message.  The theme is crystal clear in the end, but it also sympathizes with the desire to make people feel better by telling them what they want to hear.  White lies, in reality, are still lies.

What I didn’t like about this book was that we never got to see what became of Kevin’s crush!  However, I am going to read the next book, Crush, because I’m assuming we’ll learn more about her.

Once again, Daniela’s taste in books proved reliable.  She is my sixth grade book worm who let me borrow the Miss Peregrine books, and she’s recommended several others to me, although some are a little too “tweenish” for me.  She will be leaving me in 7 short weeks, but I’ll have to keep in touch with her!

Book 49 of 52 (3 more to go!)

Leave a Reply

