Sisters

image

Sisters (paperback)

by Raina Telgemeier

AR level 2.4, 1 point

Of the 3 comics (Smile, Drama, and Sisters) by Reina Telgemeier, I think Sisters is my favorite.  it continues to follow the story of Raina, now 14. She takes a road trip with her mom, sister, and little brother. Her father meets them in Colorado for a family reunion.  Along their journey, Raina thinks back to when she begged her parents for a sister, and then regretted that. Being a frustrated older sister, she isn’t able to see the value of a little sister.  Luckily, this story has a happy ending, and despite their differences, the bond of sisterhood prevails.

What at I liked about this book was the theme of sisterhood. My sister is 12 years younger than me, and we are not as close as I would hope to be.  I have 2 little girls who are 2 years apart, and they are as close as can be. I tend to get emotional over anything sister-related (Frozen was a tear-jerker for me). I hope my daughters love and fight like sisters, and that they love each other enough to keep that strong bond.

What at I didn’t like about this book was that I didn’t get to learn more about their parents’ relationship, which was left on the rocks. I hope Telgemeier has another graphic novel in the works!

Book 48 of 52 (4 more to go!)

Leave a Reply

