Crush

130941848

Crush (paperback)

by Gary Paulsen

AR Level 5.1, 4 points

Crush is another book from the series about Kevin Spencer.  There was no specified order of the books, but I’m assuming this is the third book, and I should have read Flat Broke after Liar, Liar instead of skipping to Crush, but I didn’t have trouble understanding what happened.  There was some sort of money-making, get rich quick scheme that happened and Katie was taken advantage of.  At least, that was all I gleaned from this book.

Anyway, Kevin has a huge crush on a girl named Tina.  Let me tell you I freaked out (hyperbole) when I read her name.  In Liar, Liar, her name was Katrina Marina.  In this book, she’s Katrina Maria.  I don’t know why that bugged me so much, but it did.  Anyway, Tina is in charge of showing a new boy around, and he’s a good-looking, cocky kid who makes Kevin feel threatened.  Kevin interviews several people about love, romance, and dating, and he tries setting up several of his friends to observe what happens on their dates.  Kevin is desperate to learn more about what it’s like to be in a relationship, although he feels he is already the perfect mate.  All’s well that ends well, and the story has a happy ending.

What I liked about this book was that it was humorous.  It is another quick read, but the level of vocabulary and expressions is higher than I expected.  I can’t say I’ve enjoyed any of Gary Paulsen’s books (the few I’ve read would be categorized as “drama” and those generally don’t appeal to me), but these were pretty funny.  He’s a smart aleck, and I appreciated the quick-witted dialogue and Kevin’s creativity in his schemes.  If Paulsen’s other books are like Crush, I may have to give them a chance.

What I didn’t like about this book isn’t obvious to me right now.  I may need to know more about what happens after this story ends, because I feel like there’s been a lot of build up.  After 3 books of Kevin trying to date Tina, I want to know if he learned anything!

Book 50 of 52 (2 more to go!)

Leave a Reply

