The Last Olympian

51XQiuAntML._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Percy Jackson and The Last Olympian

by Rick Riordan

AR Level 4.3, 13 points

I finally finished the series!!!  Woo hoo!  It was my summer goal to finish the series.

This is the last book in the series.  It follows Percy as he finds out if the prophecy refers to him.  I won’t give it away, but this book has the most action of the entire series.  The entire book is one giant climax.  We learn secrets, meet tons of new monsters and gods/goddesses, and we find out how the Rachel-Percy-Annabeth love triangle ends up.  This final installment will keep you going, and you won’t want to put it down until you just finish it already!  At least that’s how I felt.

What I liked about this book series is that I learned so much more about Greek mythology than I would have learned from just studying the family tree.  I like Greek mythology, but I could never keep all of them straight.  Titans, Olympians, minor gods, monsters, heroes, etc.  Now, I could explain how at least 20 of them are related without even looking.  I found myself google imaging them, as well as looking up the pronunciation of  characters I’d never heard of.  It was exciting for me as a learner, and I remember being schooled by my sixth graders at the beginning of last year when we started to learn more about Greek mythology.  The Percy Jackson fans basically told me how to draw the family tree.  So if you want to be smarter than your sixth graders, read this series before teaching your Greek mythology unit.

What I didn’t like about this series is that I sometimes didn’t know what was Greek mythology and what was Rick Riordan.  He gave some of these people such distinct personalities.  Was Aphrodite really that vain?  Did Ares really go around picking fights?  Did Poseidon really wear Hawaiian shirts?  I’d say the line between fact and fiction (fiction and fiction?) was hard for me, but on the other hand, VERY appealing to sixth graders.

If you’re looking for some light reading that will keep you engaged and teach you a thing or 20 about Greek mythology, or if you’re a boy who hates to read, this is your series.  I was very pessimistic and didn’t think I’d enjoy anything about it, and I was hooked.

Book 14 of 40 (year 2)

3 thoughts on “The Last Olympian

  1. Hey! If you liked the series, then you must read the ‘Heroes of olympus’ series. It is actually a continuation of the ‘Percy Jackson and The Olympians’ series with a bit of Roman mythology. I really loved it. Do try it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

