ATWQ “Why is This Night Different from All Other Nights?”

ATWQ4_cover-198x300

All the Wrong Questions “Why is This Night Different from All Other Nights?”

by Lemony Snicket

AR Level 5.5, 7 points

 

Um… what just happened?  Did Lemony Snicket really just leave me hanging like that?  I’d like to subtitle this blog post “What the Heck Did I Just Read?”  Because I’m not really sure.  In true LS fashion, I was left with more questions about the fate of the characters than I had when I started the series.  This is the fourth and final installation of All the Wrong Questions, and the case of the Bombinating Beast came to a close. Or did it?  Most of the story took place on a train headed to the city where all of our questions would be answered and justice would be served.  I wanted to know who had the real statue, who Hangfire really is (I was wondering about a connection between the name Hangfire and the Volunteer FIRE Department aka VFD), whether we would find out what the S stands for in S. Theodora Markson, and if Kit Snicket would be set free.  Some of those questions were answered directly and in some ways, we were left completely confused.  As the final installment, I was hoping for more, but if all of my questions were answered, it wouldn’t have been a Lemony Snicket novel.

What I liked about this book was the usual snarkiness and random connections to elements from A Series of Unfortunate Events.  Ultimately, I wanted to hear about our old friends, and there was a mention of Beatrice and Olaf.  I appreciated that the problem was resolved, but it left me with more questions, and a little confused about what I just read.

What I didn’t like about this book was the death of one of my favorite characters, which I will not name, because I am not a spoiler.  Also, I kind of wanted to throw it across the room when I read the last page.  How dare he leave me hanging!

Book 19 of 40 (year 2)

Leave a Reply

