Roller Girl

51mVuiXHJeL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Roller Girl (paperback)

by Victoria Jamieson

AR Level 3.2, 2 points

Newbery Honor

 

Roller Girl is a cute and very relatable story about a girl name Astrid and her new passion for roller derby.  She watches the girls skate around the track and decides to join their summer camp, assuming her best friend Nicole will join her, but Nicole decides to go to ballet camp instead.  Astrid learns a lot about herself as a friend and we as the reader remember what it was like to be 12.

What I liked about this book was how relatable it was.  I remember struggling to figure out who my friends were at that age, as well as who I was and what I really liked.  I wanted to think I was the best, being competitive, and was often disappointed when others were better than I was.  One particular part really hit home with me, when Astrid was told she didn’t earn the spot she wanted because of her team spirit.  She was her own worst enemy.  I think this book is really going to appeal to the kids in my class, especially the girls.  I am certain it won’t see my shelves!

What I didn’t like about this book was that it ended too soon.  I am hoping she follows in Telgemaier’s steps and continues to write about her experiences.  Luckily, on the author’s website (http://www.victoriajamieson.com/), she posts webcomics so I can get my fix!

If you haven’t read Smile, Drama, Sisters, Sunny Side Up, or El Deafo, you must.  Graphic novels have become really popular (especially with my girls), and I look forward to new discoveries.  Recommendations welcome!

Book 28 of 40 (year 2)

Leave a Reply

