Awkward

61yATZrvzjL._SX346_BO1,204,203,200_

Awkward (paperback)

by Svetlana Chmakova

AR Level 2.8, 1 point

 

Awkward is another really cute graphic novel that I learned about while browsing Amazon books.  I added it to my Donors Choose proposal, and was excited when my grant was funded!  I am so grateful for the generosity that was bestowed upon my class, and very happy that this book was a part of it, because I really enjoy finding new books for my students to read.  I am confident this one won’t stay on the shelf.

Awkward follows a girl named Peppi who is in the Art Club in her middle school.  She awkwardly befriends a boy named Jaime, who is a member of the Science Club, and Art and Science are rival clubs.  Art and Science fight throughout the story, which makes it difficult for these two awkward tweens to be friends, but they join together to unite the two clubs, and all works out in the end.

What I liked about this book was the well-written (and drawn!) characters.  It seems that the author put a lot of thought into character development before she started!  There are the typical characters in a middle school setting… nerdy, artsy, bully, strict teacher, flighty teacher, the girl everyone wants to be like, etc.  There was also the awkwardness of a boy and girl being friends, while everyone else assumes they’re boyfriend and girlfriend, or one likes the other.  I really enjoyed the way the characters were drawn and the dialogue.

What I didn’t like about this book was that it ended!  I’d like to see a sequel or more graphic novels by this author.  It is a great addition to my library!

 

Book 37 of 40 (year 2)

Leave a Reply

