Me & Miranda Mullaly

25894020

Me & Miranda Mullaly (hardcover)

by Jake Gernardt

AR Level (NO QUIZ YET, but probably in the 3-4 grade range)

 

Me & Miranda Mullaly follows 3 boys: Sam (the clown), Chollie (the athlete), and Duke (the brainiac).  They are all vying for the affection of Miranda, the cheerleader, brainiac, actress, and student council president.  They are drawn to her for different reasons and fight with each other along the way, but little do they know, she has a boyfriend.  There are physical fights, broken windows, toilet papering, hairy fathers in their underwear, and annoying little sisters, just to draw in reluctant readers, which I see as a major credit for this book.

What I liked about this book is it is told from 4 different perspectives, which is a neat way of telling a story, and one I’ve enjoyed.  The Mr. Terupt books are told that way, and I think it is makes the story more engaging.  After I learned about something that happened from one character, I enjoyed reading about the other characters’ points of view and how they reacted, or why they reacted that way.  My favorite was when Chollie, Sam, and Duke shared their perspectives, and then I got to read Miranda’s.

What I didn’t like about this book is that there’s no AR quiz. I’m hoping it’s just too new, and one will be written soon.  My reluctant readers won’t pick up a book if they aren’t going to get credit.  That’s not a bad thing about the book- just a little disappointing for now, but sometimes it takes a few months.

I saw this book at the Festival of Books at USC last weekend, and met the author, who was signing copies of his book.  I always get excited to meet the author and talk to him (or her).  It is definitely a cute, quick read, and I think reluctant readers (especially boys) will get a kick out of it.

Book 40 of 40 (year 2)

I made my 40 books for the year!  I was just 2 days late, but that’s okay.  It was a hectic week and I should have been finished a long time ago.

Leave a Reply

