Diary of a Wimpy Kid

diary_of_a_wimpy_kid

Diary of a Wimpy Kid (paperback)

by Jeff Kinney

AR Level 5.2, 3 points

 

This is the first book in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series.  I have heard about this series for the last 10 years (since it was published), but I officially got to meet Greg and his friends and family.  This is written in diary form, so instead of chapters, there are dates with different events that Greg experienced.  He gets himself into all kinds of trouble, but fails to see how he is responsible for any of the trouble.  He, like most middle school boys, thinks he can do no wrong.  However, the reader laughs at his antics and hopefully sees what he’s doing to sink himself.

What I like about this book was, well, let’s say I was definitely reluctant to read the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series.  It seemed like empty-headed silly boy humor that didn’t further one’s vocabulary or reading skills.  I realize it’s written at a 5.2, but I figured it was what I call a “gateway” book to get reluctant readers into reading.  If nothing else worked, give them Diary of a Wimpy Kid.  Well, most of that is correct.  However, it isn’t so empty-headed.  It is really witty, and I found myself laughing out loud at several parts.

What I didn’t like was the way there wasn’t a solid problem or solution to the story.  It followed a diary pattern, not a conflict-resolution pattern.  However, I think that’s what grabs students to read it.  It isn’t your traditional book.

Book 15 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

