Anna and the French Kiss

Anna-and-the-French-Kiss.jpg

Anna and the French Kiss (ebook)

by Stephanie Perkins

 

Anna Oliphant is sent to France (poor girl) to go to an American high school abroad.  Her father, a cheesy American author, feels she should experience life abroad, but she’d rather stay in Atlanta with her BFF Bridge and her new maybe-boyfriend, Toph.  She quickly falls in love with a British-American-French boy  named Etienne St. Clair, who has an older girlfriend, and is the crush of most girls at school, including their mutual friend Meredith.  Anna and St. Clair dance around the truth of their relationship while Anna learns French and comes to grips with her feelings.  It is definitely a book filled with first-world problems (Oh no- my rich father sent me to Paris for a year, and I immediately get asked to hang out with the popular kids, and I’m smart and beautiful, but I don’t realize it because I have a gap in my teeth and I wear Batman PJs).

What I liked about this book was that it was a page turner.  Sometimes I want to get caught up in a book, even if it’s bad.  It’s a young adult love story, and while the relationships were unrealistic for me, it was easy to get caught up in the lust and passion these high school students were feeling.  I couldn’t really relate to ANY of the characters, but it was an entertaining two days of reading.  On the bright side, I got to picture the streets of Paris and learn a bit about the sites I’d love to see if I ever make it to France.

What I didn’t like about this book was how sappy it is!  Oh my gosh, if love stories make you want to throw up, don’t read it, because all of the love triangles and forbidden romances and lusty longing for a hot guy with a troubled family and a British accent… but as as a warning, once you start reading, you won’t stop.  Also, it kind of bugged me that it was so idealistic- all of the broken friendships were repaired and the romantic relationships on the rocks ended amicably.  That’s not normal.  And everyone seemed to hate their dads.

Book 17 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

