Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules

diary_of_a_wimpy_kid_rodrick_rules

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules (paperback)

by Jeff Kinney

AR Level 5.2, 3 points

As I wrote previously, I was cynical when it came to the Wimpy Kid books.  I didn’t think I’d enjoy them.  However, Rodrick Rules also had me laughing out loud as I read about Greg being pushed around by his older brother Rodrick.  Much of it seems like typical older brother-little brother antics (like making Greg clean up Rodrick’s mess after a party), some of it was just mean, like when Rodrick told everyone a secret about Greg.  Greg, of course, has it coming, because he is mean to his little brother Manny.  Greg continues to be completely clueless and self-centered, which is what makes the book funny.

What I liked about this book was the fact that it gets kids to read.  I have such a hard time getting certain students, especially boys, to read books outside of their comfort zone.  This series will get kids hooked, kind of like a gateway book.  😉

What I didn’t like about this book (and the series in general) is that there is no plot.  It is a book of various events and situations, but there’s no beginning-middle-end or problem-solution.  That’s okay, as long as you aren’t forced to summarize the book.

Book 18 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

