The Wild Robot

1835de4a06d4f84a3d17742d456aa4ce

The Wild Robot (ebook)

by Peter Brown

AR Level 5.1, 5 points

 

I was really excited to read this book, because it received rave reviews from fellow readers whom I trust.  I wish I could say it lived up to the hype (for me), but it did not.  In The Wild Robot, Roz is one of 5 robots who end up on an island after falling from a cargo ship during a hurricane.  She is the only one who is in once piece, and emerges from her box only to face animals who fear her and call her a monster.  She learns to speak to the animals after observing them and learning their languages.  She soon adopts a gosling and becomes his mother, and together they grow as characters, and the other animals change their minds about her being a monster.  Towards the end, 3 robots come to reclaim her, and Roz discovers the impact she had on the other animals.

What I liked about this book was that the secondary characters (the other animals) who judged Roz based on her outward appearance (calling her a monster) saw that she was actually a loving, compassionate mother.  Their opinion of her changed based on her actions.  This gives me hope- if people can judge others based on their actions rather than their outward appearance, maybe there’s a chance for improvement.

What I didn’t like about this book was that it was kind of slow.  I had a hard time getting into it, and I forced myself (well, my newborn prevented me from moving) to read it, and I finished 3/4 in one sitting.  The story itself had so many themes to it… there was so much to take in and process, and I’m not sure a sixth grader would be able to get what the author intended.  It reminded me of a movie that typically nominated for an Oscar… it isn’t your typical feel-good source of entertainment, but there is a deeper meaning to it, and it is kind of artsy and moving.  I’d say Diary of a Wimpy Kid would be your typical comedy, the kind you watch 20 times but wouldn’t likely be up for an award.

Book 19 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

