Every Day

13262783

Every Day (ebook)

by David Levithan

YA book… not recommended for kids.

 

Every Day was a strange one.  I had  no expectations other than it’s on all of the best books reading lists, so I gave it a try.  A wakes up in a new body each day and assumes that person’s identity.  A does not have his/her own body or family, and doesn’t know how this existence came to be.  A does his/her best to live as that person, following the person’s schedule, until A falls in love with Rhiannon, the girlfriend of one of A’s people he/she inhabits.  After that, A does what he/she can to see Rhiannon at the expense of the person A inhabits that day.  Towards the end, it is revealed to A how he/she can stay in one body and be with Rhiannon.

What I liked about this book was seeing the different bodies A would end up in and what it was like to live those lives for one day.  That is something we all wish we could do- live as someone else for a day.  At least I do.  Perhaps my favorite person was the girl who was severely depressed.  It was interesting to see a different perspective.

What I didn’t like about the book was the end.  It really annoyed me.  I didn’t expect a happy ending, but I didn’t like the way it ended.  It made me uncomfortable and confused.  It seemed like there were a few pages missing, to be honest.  I expected and wanted more.  There is another book, but I’m not interested.

Book 20 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

