Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Last Straw

imgres

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Last Straw (hardcover)

by Jeff Kinney

AR Level 5.4, 3 points

 

Of the 3 Wimpy Kid books I’ve read, The Last Straw may be my favorite so far.  Greg decides to help others with their New Year’s resolutions since he is already near perfect and sees nothing to work on himself.  I’m sure you can see how that goes.  He also makes a decision about Holly Hills, gets  himself into some more shenanigans involving soccer, his brothers, Rowley, and even military school.  Again, it doesn’t have the problem-solution plot line that most books I read have, but it is entertaining and made me literally laugh out loud several times.  I will say it again- I was wrong about this series.  While it may not have higher level vocabulary nor a complex plot, it is great for looking at voice and point of view, analyzing character (Greg), and author’s style.

What I liked about this book was the way Greg, while not someone I would want to be friends with or have in my class due to his ignorant self-seeking behavior (I say that in the most loving way), is intelligent and creative enough to get himself in and out of pickles, and keeps me laughing.  I’m regretting not reading with post-its (as I lecture my own students to do), because there were certain pages I actually wanted to quote, but now I can’t remember which ones.  I appreciate Greg’s creativity and I think my students could take a lesson from him.

What I didn’t like about this book… it wasn’t my favorite book in the world, but it was my favorite in the series so far, so I have no complaints.  🙂

Book 21 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

