BABYMOUSE: Beach Babe

book-cover-babymouse-beach-babe

BABYMOUSE: Beach Babe (hardcover)

by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm

AR Level 2, 0.5 points

 

Beach Babe is my favorite of the 3 Babymouse books I’ve read so far.  Babymouse goes on a trip to the beach with her family once school is out for the summer.  She experiences the beach- she surfs, scuba dives, makes a sand castle, visits the boardwalk, etc.  In most books, her arch enemy is the cat, but in this one, it is herself.  She hurts her little brother’s feelings and she has to make it up to him.

What I liked about this book was that it had a lesson at the end that would be relatable to kids, especially younger kids like the ones this series is geared to.  I also like that it is very structured.  It wouldn’t be difficult to make a storyboard for it.  Finally, I like Babymouse’s interaction with the narrator of the story, which I didn’t notice before.

What I didn’t like about this book was… nothing.  🙂  I enjoyed it for what it is- a great graphic novel for newish readers!

Book 24 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

