Nine, Ten

61qogjhxgul

Nine, Ten: A September 11 Story (ebook)

by Nora Raleigh Baskin

AR Level 4.8, 5 points

 

I heard about this book when I was looking for books about September 11th.  I realized my students weren’t alive and know very little.  I was shocked last year when several of them had no idea what the day meant.  While this isn’t a book that teaches about what happened, it does show snapshots of what it was like for different people.  It follows 4 students: one Muslim girl, one boy in Brooklyn, one girl in California whose mom was headed to the Twin Towers, and one boy in Pennsylvania where a plane crashed into the ground.  This book shows what it was like for a seventh grader on this day.

What I liked about this book was that it recounted this day that I experienced as an adult, but from a child’s perspective.  We also learned about their background, the problems they were facing, and how those problems were put on hold.  I also appreciated that a Muslim was a character, because we could see how the millions of Islamic Americans were targeted and mistreated.  I think this would be a good reminder for students.

What I didn’t like about this book was that I felt there could have been more to it.  It is a good snapshot, but it doesn’t really teach about 9/11.  It is more about these 4 kids who happen to all experience 9/11 in this book.  Perhaps what I was wanting from this book is different from the author’s intention or purpose for writing it.

Book 33 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

