We Were Liars

imgres

We Were Liars (ebook)

by E. Lockhart

AR level 4.4, 7 points

 

We Were Liars is a book I saw while perusing the young adult books on Goodreads, my new Facebook.  Cadence (Cady) comes from a sterotypical wealthy family from the east coast.  She summers on her family’s private island near Martha’s Vineyard, doesn’t know the names of the kitchen staff or gardeners, and her mom and aunts fight over their inheritance.  She spends each summer with her cousins Mirren and Johnny, as well as Johnny’s friend Gat, whom she is in love with.  During summer fifteen, something tragic happens, and she has no memory of it, other than ending up with migraine headaches and the desire to give all of her possessions to others.  During summer seventeen, she returns to the island, and starts to remember what really happened.

What I liked about this book is learning the story of what really happened.  It was kind of shocking to me when I first learned, which was actually a spoiler, because I googled the reviews and learned about it.  Don’t do that.  I wish I let myself read it in the book instead of a review.  It would’ve been worth the wait, but I also really liked to see how it played out in the book.  I would definitely recommend you read it.

What I didn’t like about this book was that it could have used a bit more character development.  While Cady described each person using 3 words, I feel like I understood her aunts better, and they weren’t as important to the story as Gat, Mirren, and Johnny.  They could’ve used some more explanation.

Book 34 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

