The Nest

imgres

The Nest (ebook)

by Kenneth Oppel

AR Level 4.3, 5 points

 

The Nest intrigued me, because I am a big fan of the illustrator, Jon Klassen.  This is about a boy whose baby brother has a heart condition, and his parents are upset about having a sick child.  Steve and his little sister spend time outside, when Steve is stung by a wasp.  Shortly after, he starts dreaming about what he believes are angels, but it turns out they are wasps who promise to make Steve’s baby brother well.  There is also a knife sharpener who comes around and leaves a scythe-like knife for Steve (which comes in handy later).  That’s when things get weird.

What I liked about the book was I thought it was going to be about a boy and his sick brother.  I thought it was a story about compassion, or a boy who had troubles in his life, but overcame.  I did NOT expect it to be about wasps who wanted to create a new baby and remove the sick baby.  I fully expected a realistic fiction novel, and this one took a strange turn!  It will definitely stick with me for awhile!

What I didn’t like about the book was that it was really odd!  I don’t want to spoil the end, but it was kind of stressful for me, having a new baby.  I can see this stressing out a kid, too!  Steve felt responsible for his baby brother potentially being replaced and eaten by wasps.  That kind of bothered me.  I don’t want bad things happening to kids, and I don’t like that a kid had that much stress on him.

Book 38 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

