Everything, Everything

18692431

Everything, Everything (hardcover)

by Nicola Yoon

 

AR Level 4.4, 7 points

Young Adult… not for kids!

 

Madeline lives with the illness that keeps her in a bubble with air-tight doors and windows, filtered air, and no visitors.  She is cut off from the outside world, with only her nurse and mother as her companions.  Then Olly and his family move in next door, and she’s instantly in love.  They start emailing and IMing each other, until one day, they get to meet in person behind her mom’s back.  Madeline needs to decide whether it is better to live a lonely, sheltered life, cut off from the world, but in HEALTH, or risk illness or death, but enjoy traveling and being in love.  She makes her decision, and there is an unexpected twist.

What I liked about this book was that Madeline was able to fall in love and experience that, so I was also able to experience that as a reader.  I also enjoyed the twist, although I won’t spoil it for you.  I love stories with something unexpected.  That keeps the story in my mind.

What I didn’t like about this book was that I was angry with her mother, and I wanted her mother to face consequences for her actions.  I would also have liked for the love story to be a bit more believable.  Why did Olly like Madeline so much when he didn’t even know her?  She seemed a little boring to me.  It was a good story, though, and I look forward to reading The Sun is Also a Star, which won an award.

Book 39 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

