Ghost

9781481450157_p0_v3_s192x300

Ghost (paperback)

by Jason Reynolds

AR Level 4.6, 6 points

 

I loved this one.  Ghost is the nickname Castle Cranshaw gave himself due to his speed.  Ghost learned to run when his father chased him and his mother out of their house.  Now, Ghost lives with his mom in the poorest part of town with dreams of becoming the next Lebron, but he finds himself on a track team with a tough coach.  This coach sees potential in Ghost, despite the trouble Ghost gets himself into.  Finally, Ghost learns that he has control of his life and starts making better choices.

What I liked about this book was… everything.  This is a great read, and I look forward to the next book in the series, Patina, which should be out this fall.  I liked the positive message, the positive role model, and the fact that Ghost faced consequences for his actions and learned a lesson.  I think it shows there is hope when you take control of your life instead of just drifting along.

What I didn’t like about this book… there wasn’t anything.  It is my first Jason Reynolds book, and I look forward to reading more from him.  I think he has a strong voice, and readers of all ages can appreciate his style.

Book 42 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

