The Sun is Also a Star

28763485

The Sun is Also a Star (audiobook)

by Nicola Yoon

 

The Sun is Also a Star follows Natasha and Daniel from multiple perspectives.  At first, it felt very Eleanor and Park (white girl with daddy issues and Korean boy with parents who put pressure but won’t conform).  Natasha is a believer in science, while Daniel is a poet, so they have very different perspectives on life.  Natasha’s family is about to be deported back to Jamaica after her father’s DUI.  They’ve been living in New York City since she was young, and America is the home she knows.  Daniel is headed to a college interview for Yale.  He doesn’t know what he wants to do with his life until he meets Natasha and falls in love with her.  He spends the day trying to convince her that love can be scientific.

What I liked about this book was that it reminded me so much of Eleanor and Park, which is probably my favorite book in recent memory.  I fell in love with their love story.  Natasha and Daniel are so different, but romantic Daniel trying to win over cynical Natasha was lovely.  I appreciated their banter and Daniel’s refusal to give up.  Definitely go read this book.

What I didn’t like about this book was the ending.  I think I was waiting for a happier ending, but then again, I liked that both were given the chance to accomplish what they wanted to accomplish.  I don’t think it is realistic to live happily ever after at 17 or 18 years old.  I know it isn’t impossible and has happened, but it is a rarity.

Book 45 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

