Goodbye Days

51zE2A3zS0L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Goodbye Days (audiobook)

by Jeff Zentner

 

Ugh!  Goodbye Days was depressing!  It was, like Zentner’s first novel (The Serpent King), well written, though.  I am behind in my blogging, and I finished this book several weeks ago, so I apologize for another sucky summary.

Carver is a teenager who lives with the guilt of having killed his best friends.  At least, he believes he did, because he sent the text that caused his friend to crash the car as he was texting back.  Carver goes on several “goodbye days” with the 3 families of his best friends, doing what they would’ve wanted to do on their last days, and giving their families the opportunities to find peace.  However, the father of one of his friends is a big attorney and asks for the police to look into the situation as a possible manslaughter, which would send Carver to jail since he knew his friend would text him back while driving.  This is a heart-wrenching, stressful story that will make you want to put your phone in the trunk while driving just so you’re not tempted to look at it.

What I liked about this book was the way the story unfolded and the anticipation I felt, wondering if Carver would be charged with manslaughter.  I felt for him, and wanted to shake him at the same time.  I think emotionally-charged books get me every time.

What I didn’t like about this book was how depressing it was!  Oh my gosh- even the person reading the book made me want to go to sleep for a long time.  However, if teens read this story, I really hope it hits them that they cannot be using their phones, either because they themselves could die, or they could kill someone else.  If nothing else, that is a great message.

Book 52 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

