We Are Okay

61afoFEIxPL._SY291_BO1,204,203,200_QL40_

We Are Okay (audiobook)

by Nina LaCour

 

Marin is a college freshman, and she is in her dorm for Winter Break.  Alone.  We slowly find out why- her mother is dead, she never knew her father, and she has no where to go.  Marin also struggles with her relationship with her friend Mabel, but we don’t immediately find out why, although we know that Marin and Mabel had an intimate relationship that ended.  LaCour flips back and forth between the present and the past, alternating chapters.  I love the way that was done.  It was effective and not at all confusing.

What I liked about this book was that it was beautifully written.  It was like reading a poem.  LaCour spent a lot of time going into detail in certain situations, and although it tended to be a quiet, almost depressing book, it didn’t make me want to stop reading, because the description was so beautiful.

What I didn’t like about this book was the character of Gramps.  It wasn’t her description of him.  He just really bothered me.  I can understand mental illness and depression, but I felt so sad that Marin was so lonely. I wanted her to have a good relationship with her grandfather.  I am not sure why this bothered me so much.

Book 56 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

