Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Aristotle-and-Dante-Discover-the-Secrets-of-the-Universe

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe (audiobook)

by Benjamin Alire Saenz

 

Ari is a young man when he meets Dante, who offers to teach him to swim.  Both boys are somewhat lonely, isolated from society in a way.  They quickly form a close friendship.  Their personalities are different, but they compliment each other.  This is a coming of age story, and it is broken up into several parts.  It would be hard to give too much detail without giving the story away.

What I liked about this book was the topic.  It’s not that I particularly enjoy stories about young men or women coming out or discovering their identity, but I enjoy stories about people whom I cannot relate to.  I really think people should read books about characters nothing like them, just to broaden their horizons.  I think exposure to new topics will help to build compassion and empathy for others’ situations.  I am not gay, so I will never understand what it is like for someone to learn to be comfortable with him or herself.

What I didn’t like about this book was the violence.  It hurt my soul to read about Dante being beaten because of his sexuality.

Book 59 of 40 (40 Book Challenge)

Leave a Reply

