Under Rose-Tainted Skies

28101540

Under Rose-Tainted Skies (audiobook)

by Louise Gornall

 

As my friend says, I gravitate to “sad” or “depressing” young adult books, and that’s why we don’t completely share the same taste in books.  Under Rose-Tainted Skies didn’t exactly feel depressing for most of it, but it did give me a glimpse into the world of a young woman with OCD and agoraphobia.  Norah’s mother goes out of town, and Norah is left to fend for herself within her home.  She is terrified of leaving the house, of strangers touching her, of catching diseases, etc., and settles her fears with self-harm.  She meets her new neighbor, and he has to learn her rules.  Norah’s ups and downs with mental illness make a relationship difficult, but the two of them have to learn together.

What I liked about this book was that I could experience mental illness without having mental illness.  Gornall, from what I’ve read, used her life experiences as inspiration for this novel, and while I am a homebody have a touch of anxiety now and then, I will likely never develop OCD or agoraphobia.  I can’t completely understand what it is like to live with mental illness, but reading about it helps build understanding.

What I didn’t like about this book is what often bothers me in similar books… there is always a mentally ill character with someone who loves and adores them and is willing to overlook their illness and be a perfect significant other.  I know there are people out there like that, but in every book I read, this is the first relationship and everything is perfect.  I don’t think that part is realistic.  However, I keep coming back for more, don’t I?  So it can’t bother me TOO much!

Book 10 of 40

Leave a Reply

